Never Give Up

Today, I watched a Ted Talk given by Diana Nyad, the first person ever to succeed in swimming from Cuba to Florida. Not only was this a very challenging feat due to the incredible distance, venomous jellyfish, and dangerous sharks, but Diana also managed to achieve this goal at the age of 64! I found it fascinating to see that she persevered through years of training and attempts, never letting obstacles discourage her. Furthermore, she explained how beyond focusing on the destination or goal, it is crucial to cherish the journey that leads to this goal. Every time she tried swimming from Cuba to Florida and did not succeed, rather than viewing it as a failure, she saw the experience as an opportunity to grow, as she learned from her mistakes. Through years and years of effort, she never once gave up her dream. Even when doctors, scientists, and her friends told her that she would never be able to cross the body of water at the age of 64, she continued believing in herself.

1022_diananyad.jpg

Another really interesting point that I took away from her video is that she didn’t achieve this goal on her own, but worked with a whole team of people who supported her throughout her journey. This gave me a new perspective about goals because I had always considered them as something personal. However, this taught me that working together with others to accomplish your dreams is much more effective.

One dream that I have had for years is using my passion for singing to make a difference in my community. Three years ago, I achieved this goal by founding Girls Coalition for Change, a group that brings together high school girls who strive to use their musical talents to create positive change both on a local and global scale. I have helped organize numerous concerts where we have raised money and awareness for organizations such as the Malala Fund which provides girls in developing countries with an education, Stand Up for Kids which supports homeless youth in the bay area by giving them access to basic necessities, and Access Books Bay Area which refurbishes libraries at underprivileged schools. At times, I doubted my ability to achieve this dream because I was scared that our events would not be successful. However, through years of effort, I have succeeded in raising thousands of dollars for charities that support those in need by singing at benefit concerts.

Works Cited

“Diana Nyad.” Biography.com, A&E Networks Television, 28 Jan. 2016, http://www.biography.com/people/diana-nyad-21329683.

“Diana Nyad, In Her 60s, Keeps Making Swimming History.” Diana Nyad, In Her 60s, Keeps Making Swimming History | Here & Now, http://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2015/10/22/diana-nyad-find-a-way.

“Image about Dream in Iphone Wallpaper by _Magi.” We Heart It, 9 Jan. 2018, weheartit.com/entry/139884826.

Nyad, Diana. “Extreme Swimming with the World’s Most Dangerous Jellyfish.” TED: Ideas Worth Spreading, http://www.ted.com/talks/diana_nyad_extreme_swimming_with_the_world_s_most_dangerous_jellyfish.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma Loaiza says:

    Hey Zoe! This is a really great reflection on the Never Give Up TED talk. A good support system is always a key part in working towards your goal and I love that you acknowledged this in your post! I think of my goals as personal feats as well, but it is so important to step back and accept or ask for help from others. I think it’s amazing that you founded an entire organization to help others in a way that you are passionate about, through singing! Now that you have accomplished this goal, have you thought about what you will do next?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Zoe, What an incredible group you have founded. I loved learning about this part of you. I am inspired by the way you have taken a passion for music and singing and found a way to benefit others. That is the magic combination! Please let me know the next time you have a concert. I always look forward to hearing you sing. Thank you for sharing your gift of voice and for being such a vital Team AP Bio member!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. zdebretagne says:

      Thank you, Mrs. Girard!

      Like

  3. florence de bretagne says:

    I find this post very interesting and I’m a strong believer of goals setting at one condition: that you also like the journey. Working hard towards your goal, with perseverance AND JOY, is essential because you can never be sure that you’ll reach your goals. I think that you have key elements to go very far in life Zoe: setting high goals for yourself, dream big, work hard, and persevere.

    Like

Leave a comment